10 Months

I recently read the following:

“The soul of a child looks down at the world and sees every soul that resides in every woman. When he finds the one that will be able to fulfill his life’s purpose, he makes his choice. The relationship between the mother and the child is no accident.”

No matter what you believe in, doesn’t that just sound right? As soon as I found out we were blessed with being pregnant I knew this little being inside of me was a boy. Joe and I joked that we could tell his personality when he was in my womb and sure enough he is who we thought he would be. He has a giant personality, he’s serious when he’s analyzing a situation or in a new environment, he is a little scaredy cat and yet adventurous. He’s awfully cuddly and likes to please and giggles, giggles, giggles.

At 10 months our funny is very interested in feeding himself and being a little more independent, but looking towards us for approval. He is joyful and beyond curious. I love this curiosity! I could tell when he’s trying to figure something out and wants to explore something further. I encourage this, because at 31 I am the same way. I remember once being at a friend’s house and a parent had referred to me as a ‘precocious child’ and although I was unsure of the meaning I thought that by the way the word was used it was certainly meant negatively.

pre·co·cious

1. Usually advanced or mature in development, especially mental development

2. Prematurely developed, as the mind, faculties, etc.

I am now quite certain that this person didn’t actually know the correct definition of precocious. In any case, I would be perfectly fine with Caden being referred to as a precocious child. When I was a child (and still as an adult) my family often says, “Elizabeth grows curiouser and curiouser” which of course comes from the novel Alice’s Adventure in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.  My Mother highly encouraged my imagination and fed into it (and still does!). If I can do one thing right I hope that I allow Caden to have an imagination which will always keep him entertained and wanting to learn more.

Each month that passes I feel sadness in my heart that he is growing so quickly, but I am quick to remind myself that him growing physically and intellectually is a sign that we may actually be doing this parent thing right.

Leave a Reply

