Happy 1st Birthday!

My new motto: I’ll get there….eventually! It seems that every time I say that I want to do something (like update my blog) I find something else to do. Most of the time what I “find to do” consists of rolling around on the floor with a 1-year-old or lately it’s been playing outside with a 1-year-old. Yep, you heard me….1 YEAR OLD! Our Caden turned 1 (on May 3rd)!

When I think about how fast this past year went by my eyes fill with tears. Our life PC (Prior Caden) was so amazing that it was impossible for me to comprehend how it could get any better, but it has.

Caden is funny and curious and loves to laugh and is doing all sorts of new tricks like walking and crawling up the stairs. He loves to play “Where’s Caden” and when he does something that he’s even impressed by, he gives himself a round of applause ♥

At his 1 year doctor appointment he was 23 lbs 12 oz and 30 ½ inches; however, what is most impressive is his 19” head circumference which puts him in the 90-95th percentile….lotsa brain, lotsa brain.

Caden took his first step on the evening of his birthday party and we were fortunate enough to see them along with Yaya (a name Caden has given to Joe’s Mom).

Our birthday party theme, Caden’s Carnival, would not have been possible without the help of my amazing sister, Melissa, who did a ton of the shopping with me, created the kids gift bags and made the table centerpieces. My Mom and Melissa also made all the food while Auntie Wendy created the games for the kids and signs for the games. My wonderful Dad helped me setup the party and made sure everything was exactly how I envisioned it. Fortunately, it did not rain on our carnival, but it was a little chilly. We enjoyed everything that a carnival has to offer; hot dogs, popcorn, cotton candy, cracker jacks, games and of course, a face painter for the kids.

We were also VERY fortunate to have Joe’s Mom in town for 17 days! Having Yaya in town was such a gift and we are missing her terribly since she has returned to San Francisco. One thing we know for sure, we will be back in the gorgeous city of San Francisco before long.

We took our boy out for his favorite breakfast of pancakes on his birthday and to the zoo to meet a few of his relatives. It was a gorgeous day and I actually made it through the day without shedding a tear.

Here are a few pictures of Caden’s birthday and his party.

Happy Birthday, Caden! Mommy & Daddy love you SO much! xoxo

Leave a Reply

