Chicken in a Biscuit, Santa Fe Chicken Chili & Fruit Cobbler

We have recently enjoyed some time with my mother-in-law in town and I’ve taken this opportunity to try a few new recipes to get her opinion. I should have known this wasn’t a good idea, because the lady is too nice and doesn’t have a mean bone in her body! Well, I think she has one…something about a pool and her balcony…anyways…I digress… I’m not sure she would have told me if she hated the new creations I made, but all three were easy and I was pretty happy with how they turned out. I have found that it is nearly impossible for me to follow a recipe. I find a new recipe and then change half of it and I’m always surprised with what I come up with.

Chicken in a Biscuit (Bonus: it’s low fat & kid friendly)

Ingredients

  • 1 can reduced fat biscuits (10 count)
  • 1 cup (or a little more) diced cooked chicken (shortcut tip: Buy the Tyson All White Meat already cooked diced chicken)
  • 1 (10.5 oz) can reduced-fat cream of chicken soup (or make your own…I will put the recipe I use below….I do not like these soups, they kinda scare me so I try to stay away from them)
  • 2/3 cup shredded low-fat cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup frozen veggies
  • Seasonings
    • 1 teaspoon parsley flakes
    • 1 teaspoon onion powder
    • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
    • ¼ teaspoon pepper

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Place each biscuit in a cup of a lightly greased 12-hole muffin pan, pressing dough up all sides to edge the cup
  • In a medium bowl combine all ingredients
  • Evenly spoon chicken mixture into prepared biscuit cups (I overfilled mine a little)
  • Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown
  • Enjoy!

Cream of Chicken Soup Alternative

Ingredients

  • 1 Tablespoon Flour
  • 3 Tablespoons Butter
  • ½ Cup Chicken Broth
  • ½ Cup Milk
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Instructions

  • Melt the butter in a small sauce pan over medium-low heat. When melted, whisk in the flour and continue whisking until smooth and bubbly. Remove from the heat and slowly whisk in the chicken broth and milk. Return to the heat and bring to a gentle boil, whisking constantly, until the soup thickens. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Santa Fe Chicken Chili in a Slow Cooker (A little too spicy for little ones)

Ingredients

  • 1 pound boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 1 can sweet kernel corn (drained)
  • 1 can black beans (drained)
  • 1 can salsa
  • 1 can Rotel Original
  • 1 package cream cheese (1/3 less fat)
  • Seasonings
    • 1 package guacamole seasoning
    • ½ teaspoon cumin
    • 1 teaspoon chili powder
    • 2 teaspoons onion powder
    • 1 teaspoon garlic powder

Instructions

  • Place chicken on bottom of slow cooker
  • Mix remaining ingredients together and top chicken
  • Cook on high for 4 hours or low for 8 hours
  • Shred chicken before serving
  • Top with sour cream, shredded cheese and sliced avocado (optional) – I also made elbow macaroni to accompany mine

Berry Cobbler

Ingredients

  • 1 can clear soda
  • Two (12 oz) bags of mixed berries or any berries you like
  • 1 box white cake mix (no pudding)

Instructions

  • Place frozen berries in 9×13 baking dish
  • Add dry cake mix over the top
  • Pour pop slowly over cake mix (Do not stir!)
  • Bake 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes

Yummy!! This was delicious!

Leave a Reply

