Home Improvements

I had 11 days off of work and thought…well, surely I can’t just relax or lunch with girlfriends or shop…nope, I decided that tackling major home remodeling projects was the way to go.
WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

Day 1 text to Joe: I love Menards!
Day 11 text to Joe: I loathe Menards!

IMG_1967

On top of deciding that I wanted to complete these projects, I also decided to challenge myself by completing each project within a budget. Again, WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

Do you see a theme starting to form?

Project #1: Replacing the screen to the sliding glass door
Cost: $0 I already had everything I needed

Before
IMG_1926

After
IMG_1927

Okay, that wasn’t so bad. So, I continued down the rabbit hole. There is a constant whisper playing in the back of my head and it sounds like this…you are the daughter of a general contactor, don’t be a disappointment, don’t be a disappointment. I hate my head sometimes!

Project #2: Refinishing our existing outdoor furniture
Cost: $8 with tax, no joke!
Spraypaint: $5
Tarp: $1.75

Before
IMG_1931

IMG_1924

IMG_1925

After
IMG_1929

IMG_1932

A few lessons learned here…(1) in the future I will not do a project like this when it’s 100+ degrees outside and (2) I will look at the weather forcast so that this doesn’t happen 10 minutes after I complete my project!

IMG_1941

IMG_1936

Project #3: Finishing the Laundry Room
Cost: $135
Tile: $32
Paint: $22
Contact Paper: $11
Accessories: $40
Lumber: $30

When we moved into our house three years ago I was so excited to have a laundry room that I did not care what it looked like. I care now.

Before:
IMG_1949

IMG_1948

IMG_1947

IMG_1946

After
IMG_2005

IMG_2001

IMG_2004

IMG_1998

IMG_1977

Side note, I did complete the flooring in the laundry room, but didn’t take a picture of it. It looks as great as laminate flooring in a laundry room can look.

Now, we come to the mother of all projects…the master bathroom.

Project #4: Remodeling the master bathroom
Cost: $548
Faucets: $252
Light Fixture: $60
Shower Curtain/ Rug: $40
Shelf: $40
Accessories: $90
Paint: $66

Originally the intent was to paint and get rid of the hideous light fixture that I had random nightmares about.

IMG_1979

IMG_2041

Then we decided that we had to get new faucets to match the new light fixture.

IMG_1981

IMG_2042

Then, I decided that I hated the cabinetry.

IMG_1982

IMG_2040

IMG_2046

Then, I decided that I hated the ugly builders wood baseboards and doors…who doesn’t!

Then, we decided that we hated the ugly builders wood baseboards and doors throughout the house. More to come on that fiasco!

WHAT WAS I THINKING?!

I love how everything turned out. It was a busy 11 days. I wouldn’t say I was happy to go back to work, but I would say that I am probably better at my professional job than I am at home remodeling.

One Comment on “Home Improvements”

  1. So entertaining reading the home improvement blog, I laughed so hard, also everything looks beautiful!


Leave a Reply

