Pinch Me

I get these pinch-me moments; these times where I would be perfectly content if everything just stopped and I could soak up every detail about a particular moment. There are these moments that I don’t care about the dishes in the sink or the laundry piling up or the grocery shopping that needs to be done. All I care about in that moment is feeding ducks. Okay, I don’t always care about feeding ducks, but today that’s all I cared about. It was all I cared about yesterday as well.

Today, I was smart though, today I took along the camera so I could be sure to have this pinch-me moment documented. This isn’t so much about ducks as it is knowing that today Funny is 2 years 4 months and 10 days old and he will only be 2 years 4 months and 10 days old today, not tomorrow, today. Today I need to take advantage of the fact that he thinks that feeding the ducks is the best, most exciting thing in the world and playing with Mom at the park is his favorite thing to do and holding my hand and giving me kisses is not embarrassing.

So, what happens when you combine this
IMG_3698

with this
IMG_3668

You get this!
IMG_3672

He carried the loaf of bread through the entire park
IMG_3664

IMG_3665

IMG_3666

IMG_3667

IMG_3675

IMG_3676

We played hide & seek around the tree
IMG_3677

IMG_3678

We talked about the planes we heard
IMG_3694

And the moon we saw and recited our favorite poem about the moon
I see the Moon
The Moon sees me
Please Mr. Moon don’t you tell on me
IMG_3695

As we traveled through the park he turned around and made sure I was still there every once in a while.
IMG_3681

And I got filled with tears when he walked up to a tree and told me, “It’s a baby tree, Mommy!”. He was right, it was a baby tree and he wanted to take a picture with the baby tree he found.
IMG_3683

IMG_3682

We laughed and giggled as we continued walking through the park to our favorite destination.
IMG_3687

IMG_3688

IMG_3689

IMG_3690

IMG_3691

IMG_3697

IMG_3700

Then, we got there and saw this!
IMG_3703

NO DUCKS! Seriously, this couldn’t be happening. Why? How? This is bringing me to tears, how will I explain this? Then I had an idea, what if I threw a piece of bread as high and far as I could into the river..
IMG_3704

She came! A duck saw my piece of bread and she came! Then more came, and more came, and more came.
IMG_3705

IMG_3706

IMG_3707

IMG_3708

IMG_3709

IMG_3710

IMG_3711

IMG_3717

IMG_3724

IMG_3722

IMG_3721

IMG_3720

IMG_3718

These ducks were not very afraid of people, as a matter of fact, this one actually took the piece of bread right out of his hand!
IMG_3727

I freaked out. For a second I thought that I was going to have to do something about that duck, but luckily our bread supply had run out and we were leaving when that particular duck decided to follow us!
IMG_3729

Caden yelled, “NO DUCK! NO!”

We made our way to the really big, really fun park!
IMG_3733

IMG_3735

IMG_3749

IMG_3745

IMG_3744

IMG_3741

IMG_3756

IMG_3757

IMG_3759

IMG_3758

I absolutely love the fact that Funny still wants to grab for my hand when he goes down the slide. That won’t happen next summer. Next summer he won’t be 2 years 4 months and 10 days old, but today he is and today he still wants my hand.
IMG_3754

As we left the park Caden was leading us back to our car when we came to this point and he said, “Mommy, there are two paths”.
IMG_3764

Again, he was right. There were two paths and he continues to astonish me with what comes out of his little 2 year 4 month and 10 day old mouth.

When we came across this statue in the park he said, “Mommy, he’s so cute!” and proceed to hug the statue as hard as he could for quite a while.
IMG_3763

Today, was a pinch-me moment.

6 Comments on “Pinch Me”

  1. Omg….. I experienced so many emotions reading this pinch me blog, I laughed, I shed happy tears, I got duck bumps(ha ha,)’ the pics were so amazing, I actually couldn’t stop looking at my little funny, he has such an amazing personality, what an incredible little boy he is, I cannot wait to experience pinch me moments with him!! How awesome that you take the time to enjoy him so much!! That blog will forever leave such a beautiful feeling in my heart.

  2. Julie Blom says:

    Oh my goodness…so amazing! I have those moments already and should start documenting as well as you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Sep 13, 2013, at 8:52 PM, Raising Funny wrote:

    WordPress.com Raising Funny posted: “I get these pinch-me moments; these times where I would be perfectly content if everything just stopped and I could soak up every detail about a particular moment. There are these moments that I don’t care about the dishes in the sink or the laundry pilin”

  3. Kathy Randazzo says:

    WOW as I read the story I had this feeling as if I was sharing the day with u and the sounds around me was but a distant sound. At the end of the story I then realized it was an experience that was all too real. Thank you for inviting me to join your day with Funny. I had a great time.

  4. Jeannette says:

    Amazing….simply amazing. Words and emotions escape me when I read and share your day with Funny. I cried…I smiled….I laughed….and then I cried again. These moments go by so fast and to remember and capture special memories will last a lifetime. I know this because…. I still remember OUR Pinch Me Moments!! Wonderful pictures! Love You!!


Leave a Reply

