Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Since the day that Caden was born Joe has sang him to bed each and every night. It’s loving and endearing and Caden loves when his Daddy sings to him. During the summer Caden began singing along to their favorite tune, Somewhere Over the Rainbow. I dare you to listen to a 2-year old sing Somewhere Over the Rainbow and not completely melt into a blubbery mess.

Recently, Caden has taken his love for Somewhere Over the Rainbow to another level and began altering the lyrics to better describe his love for his Daddy. The beautiful lyrics are:

Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
There’s a land that I’ve heard of once in a lullaby.
Somewhere over the rainbow, skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream,
Really do come true.

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the clouds are far behind me.
Where troubles melt like lemon drops,
Away above the chimney tops,
That’s where you’ll find me.

Somewhere over the rainbow, blue birds fly
Birds fly over the rainbow
Why then, oh why can’t I?
If happy little bluebirds fly beyond the rainbow
Why, oh why can’t I?

Caden has altered the second verse to:

Someday I’ll wish upon a star
And wake up where the clouds are far behind me.
Where troubles melt like lemon drops,
Away above the chimney tops,
That’s where you’ll find me AND YOU AND ME AND YOU AND ME AND YOUUUUUUUU……

Now, if a 2-year old singing Somewhere Over the Rainbow doesn’t make your heart sing then surely him altering the lyrics to include his Daddy has to do something to you…or else you might just be a stone statue.

Caden has the very best Daddy, I am sure of it. Recently the two of them have taken up signing Take Me Out to the Ball Game.

Root, root, root for the CUBBIES!

It’s pretty awesome. My boys are pretty awesome.

3 Comments on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”

  1. Awwww….. Since I have had the precious moments of Caden singing….. I can just imagine what his new verse does to make me melt….. Because it was so very hard to actually put him in his bed anyway… Especially more heart saddening softer he sang!! I just didn’t want to be away from him!

  2. Jeannette Jorden says:

    Beautiful and precious……I have heard them sing together and have been fortunate to hear Caden’s new added verse…..brought tears to Byeee. It warms my heart that Daddy has never missed a night singing with his son and I know Caden loves his night time tuck in with Daddy.

  3. Joe says:

    He loves to sing!


Leave a Reply

