2 Year-Old Preschool: Day 1

January 13, 2014: Day 1 of 2 Year-Old Preschool

All the planning in the world would not have made this morning any easier. I knew in September that Caden would start a preschool program after the 1st of the year and due to a friends posting on Facebook (how else do you find anything out anymore?) I was recommended a preschool that has a program for 2 year-olds.

We have discussed preschool endlessly. We had two dress rehearsals where I went to preschool with Caden. We met his teachers. We explored the classroom. We made a fancy sign for his first day.

image (1)

Funny got a really cool backpack from Onie, Uncle Joe and Wednesday for Christmas.

image

We were so happy before leaving the house.

image (2)

We sang our favorite tunes on the way to preschool, the usual playlist of Head, Shoulders, Knees and Toes, BINGO and of course, Caden’s fav Roar (yep, the Katy Perry song).

We walked in, I stayed for 10 minutes and the teacher politely told me I was making the situation worse because he was anticipating me leaving. I gave my boy a kiss, walked out of the room and he lost it and then I lost it. I mean, I lost it. I did the hysterical ugly cry. I cried like that once when I was told he would require surgery at 3 1/2 weeks old, but not since.

I was also told that I had to pick him up 1/2 hour early, because I did not send him to school with his snow pants and boots and they were going to play outside. #1: It’s his first day and I was clearly not doing this preschool thing right, #2: Pick him up early? I didn’t plan on leaving and #3: Pick him up early? Perfect!

The Director of the Preschool took pity on me and gave me some juice and told me that I am apparently not the only parent to lose it in her office. I tried explaining that I really am not as crazy as I was coming across and even as the words were leaving my mouth I didn’t believe them. No, I really am this crazy. When it comes to my boy, I am crazy.

I left her office and sat in the hallway for about 45 minutes. Then I moved to my car, in the parking lot. I was clenching my phone for dear life assuming that at any second I would get that call where they said that I should come get him. I never got that call. I cried for about 2 hours. I gathered myself enough to walk into the building (early) to get him and with a big smile on his face he said, “Hi Mommy!”.

“Hi Mommy!” Dear God….I love those words. “Hi Mommy!” with such enthusiasm and joy. “Hi Mommy!”….did I start crying again….no, I had no more tears left, I just cried for 2 hours for goodness sakes! I heard all about his day of painting and story time and snacks and snacks and snacks (he must have really enjoyed the snacks).

We grabbed lunch with Byeee (Grandma) and headed home for a nap.

image (3)

Caden’s teacher called me this afternoon to tell me Caden did wonderful and she is looking forward to him being in her classroom. She said wonderful things about him that I already knew, but it’s nice to hear a stranger say about your kid.

January 13, 2014: Day 1 of 2 year-old preschool: WE SURVIVED!

5 Comments on “2 Year-Old Preschool: Day 1”

  1. Oh what a story…. I feel bad you felt so bad, but I am soo happy everything worked out so well! I love and miss you all !!

  2. Jeannette Jorden says:

    What a wonderful story My Girl….I was tearing. I also got to have the joy of being there for his first day lunch surprise….which made Byeee so happy!! He seemed to fait the day…he had fun..yes and snacks…and the best part is he wants to go back!! As I said…Caden will adjust just fine…it’s the Mommy that needs to!!

  3. Jeremy Gonis says:

    From time to time I remember to visit your blog and I enjoy it thoroughly! If I may ask, what surgery did Caden have at 3 1/2 weeks?

    • That is truly so kind of you. Thank you so much for following my ramblings. At 3 1/2 weeks Caden was diagnosed with Pyloric Stenosis which is an obstruction from the stomach to the small intestines. He was in the NICU for several days and had to have immediate surgery. I look at that time as both a blessing and a curse and have actually started blogging about it several times…maybe I’ll get around to finishing that one sometime soon. Thank you again for your kind words.

      • Jeremy Gonis says:

        Oh, I’m aaaalllllllll too familiar with PS, as I had it too! It’s common in first born males. I have a nasty scar to go with mine though. They used catgut to close up and I’m allergic.


Leave a Reply

