Ah-em I’m talking to….

Does “Ah-em, I’m talking to Mommy!” sound rude? Yes? I agree, that’s because, it is rude! However, it is so much better than the alternative which was “I’m not talking to you! I’m talking to Mommy!” Sometimes you pick your battles.

If Caden was talking aloud and someone, other than who he was speaking to, responded to him he would quickly point out “I’m not talking to you! I’m talking to (fill in the blank)!” and after the first few times the cuteness factor wore off. We spoke to him a couple of times explaining that what he was saying wasn’t very nice and on his own accord he decided that the nicer alternative was “Ah-em (yes, the clearing your throat sound) I’m talking to (fill in the blank)”.

 Of course, we all know that this is not much nicer, but a few things (a) it’s 10% nicer than the alternative (b) he came up with this all on his own and (c) it really is just adorable….so, we pick our battles and we are totally okay with “Ah-em I’m talking to….”

Leave a Reply

